在法国见习,以自身风格提供法式料理

普安(POINT)
中多 健二

cook bis -ポワン005

我没上过料理学校,从零经验直接进入了料理世界

您是如何进入料理界的?

中多:
大学时代,我对料理完全不感兴趣。偶尔在朋友经营的酒吧里帮忙,在那里开始做饭。买了料理书,模仿着做一些家常菜水平的料理。在那之前,我从来没有好好地握过菜刀,根本就是门外汉。

但当我实际开始做饭,因为当时流行的意大利热潮,我开始产生兴趣,帮着帮着就跃跃欲试想要尝试做更多的菜。一次偶然的机会,朋友带我去吃了人生第一次的法国菜,就餐体验令我十分感动。我希望自己也能做出这样的菜,想来这是我进入这行的契机。

我听取从料理专门学校毕业的哥哥的建议,决定不去专门学校学习直接在店里见习工作。

您的见习时代是怎样的呢?

中多:
我最开始见习的是一家在江坂地区的店。这家餐厅提供芝士料理、法餐、意大利餐等等,可选范围广泛,从基础料理知识到法国菜、意大利菜都能学习到。在那之后也做过婚宴,26岁的时候进入了位于淀屋桥的法国餐厅“拉克罗斯(La Croche)”。

我见习的时候,环境并不苛刻,我很幸运周围有很多优秀的前辈。只是,做菜是要“用眼看用心记”的。每天在厨房里,我看着我的前辈们的工作,当被问及“你能做出这个吗?”我为了能说出,“我能做”,还会自己一个人研究学习。倒不是说具体师从哪一位,我从当时一起工作的众多前辈那里,学习到了很多。

之后,我开始想要认真学习法国菜,就去了法国。

cook bis -ポワン026

在法国感受到的、日本料理人的“技术”与法国料理人的“品味”

您在法国的见习情况如何呢?

中多:
因为完全没有人脉,我只能自己找可以在法国见习的店。我从刚从法国回来的后辈那里得到了建议,首先是向米其林指南中列出的所有明星餐厅发了传真。如果是认真对待业务的店,是会好好给出回复的。在收到的回复里,我先去了“TAILLEVENT”,之后以研究生的身份去了“银塔餐厅(LA TOUR D’ARGENT)”。

我在实际工作中感受到的第一件事是,“和我想象的完全不同”。从之前在日本看前辈在餐厅工作的经验来评价的话,说实话,我对法国餐厅的总体印象是缺少章法。对他们而言,料理终究不过是一份“工作”,和家人一起休假是很重要的。也可以说我对这种价值观上的差异感到惊讶。营业时间和假期都是精确管理的,8月份整个月关店就是为了放假。不是好坏的评价,而是切身感受到一种与日本完全不同的价值观。

因此,我觉得就“学习烹饪技术”的角度来说,日本的见习期更为充实紧密。实际上,在工作上日本人被认为更为严肃和细致,许多日本人在有名的餐馆里以第二把手、第三把手的身份活跃着。与过去不同,现在信息很容易获得,所以可以使用打工度假签证。前往法国见习的门槛没有那么高了。

虽然在法国厨房完全语言不同,但通过同事们的实际演示,大体能理解该如何去做。

虽说“技术”方面我认为日本技高一筹,但另一方面,接触了法国料理的食材、色彩运用、入味方式等等,我确实感受到他们的“品味”很好。在那一点上,他们的确很厉害。随着我在法国工作的深入,我开始感受到法国美食的深邃奥秘。另外,在言语不通的工作环境中努力过的经验也增强了我回国后的自信心。当时如果可能的话,我想工作得更久一点。

普安(POINT)

联系我们
--
交通
大阪府大阪市福島区福島3丁目12-20 ツインコート1F
普安(POINT)于2017年9月闭店。中多主厨希望借此机会再次精进自己的厨艺,去各地进修。
营业时间
--
休息日
--

Chef Nakata, who trained in France and offers French cuisine in his own style

point
Kenji Nakata

cook bis -ポワン005

Entering into the world of food, completely inexperienced and without having attended a culinary school

What prompted you to go into the food industry?

Mr. Nakata:
When I was in college, I had no interest in food. I ended up having to help out at my friend’s bar, and that is where I cooked for the first time. I bought cookbooks, and started making things, at the level of a home cook, just by copying. Until then, I was a total novice, having almost never even held a knife before.

Once I started cooking, however, I became more interested, partly due to the large popularity of Italian food at the time. Moreover, I had an incredible experience, when my friend happened to take me to a French restaurant for the first time in my life. I thought, “I want to be able to make this kind of food,” and that was the beginning of my life in the food industry.   

By my brother’s advice, who had graduated from a culinary school, I decided to train on the job at restaurants, rather than attend school.

What was your training period like?

Mr. Nakata:
I first started at a restaurant in Esaka. This restaurant offered a wide variety of cheese dishes, French, and Italian foods, and I was able to learn the basics of French and Italian cuisines. After that, I worked at a wedding venue to build experience, and then joined “La Cloche,” a French restaurant in Yodoyabashi, when I was 26.

My training period was not severely harsh, instead I was blessed with great mentors. When it came to cooking, however, it was strictly “learn by watching.” I watched the senior chefs working in the kitchen day after day, and studied on my own, so if I were ever asked, “can you do this?” I can confidently answer, “yes.” Rather than “studying under someone,” I learned many things from all of the senior chefs working in the kitchen at that time.

After that, I developed an interest to really learn about French cooking, and moved to France.

cook bis -ポワン026

Japanese chefs’ “techniques,” and French chefs’ “sensibility” that I realized in France

How was your training in France?

Mr. Nakata:
Since I had no connections, I had to look for a restaurant in France that would take me. I got an advice from an acquaintance, who had just returned from France, and decided to send a fax to every Michelin ranked restaurant. Reputable restaurants actually gave me a clear answer. From a few options, I decided to work first at “Le Taillevent,” and then at “La Tour D’argent,” as a trainee.
When I actually started working, I first realized how different things were from what I had imagined. From what I had experienced from watching the senior chefs in Japan, I felt that overall, the work was done a bit roughly. For them, cooking was “work” after all, and they greatly valued their off-days, which they spent with their families. Perhaps I was shocked by this difference in the sense of value. Working hours and off-days were clearly designated, and the restaurant was closed for the entire month of August for vacation. Besides the question of it being good or bad, I learned that the sense of value in France is completely different from that in Japan.

Therefore, I felt that Japan is actually better for learning “techniques” of cooking. In fact, Japanese people are known for being dedicated and detail-orientated workers, and many of them are actively working as second or third in command at famous restaurants. Nowadays, it is much easier to gather information, and also, it is possible to use the Working Holiday system. Going to France is not as big of a challenge as it once was.

I could hardly communicate with the co-workers on the job, however, they used gestures and demonstrated the skills to me, so I was able to keep up.

In terms of “techniques,” I did have a negative impression as I mentioned before. However, it was amazing to be able to experience their sensibility, such as coming in contact with the ingredients for French cuisine, color scheme of the dishes, and flavoring. They were amazing in that aspect. The longer I worked, the more I learned about the amazingness and the depth of French cuisine. Having worked hard in an environment where I did not understand the language, and did not get to work as I wanted, helped build my confidence after I returned to Japan. I wanted to work in France longer.

point

Inquiry
06-6455-5572
Access
Twin-Court Fukushima, 3-12-20, Fukushima, Fukushima-ku Osaka-shi, Osaka, 553-0003, Japan
Hours
12:00~15:30(L.O/13:00)
18:00~23:00(L.O/20:00)
Closed
Irregular holidays