厨师是最棒的工作,只要两小时就能让人感受幸福

麻布 门肋
门肋 俊哉

看到老师的朋友——道場六三郎的后内心萌生成为一流的渴望

您原来是以会计身份在一家日本餐馆工作,对吧?

门肋:
没错。我的父母在北海道老家开了一家寿司店。但他们告诉我,“我们希望在未来扩大餐厅经营,因此你应该学习管理。”所以我从专业会计学校毕业后就在六本木的一家高级餐馆“越”工作。别看我这副样子,我可是有簿记一级资格呢(簿记是日本的会计师水平考试,一级为最高级)。

真的啊!那您是不是一开始根本没想过要进入烹饪世界?

门肋:
我看着父母靠寿司手艺讨生活,觉得很辛苦。我当时还很年轻,被大千世界吸引,以为自己想尝试做餐厅设计。但当我开始在“越”工作,我被告知,“为了做好管理,你得知道在现场发生了什么。我们不是在开玩笑——希望你能在厨房里帮忙三个月。”对于管理来说,把握工作条件和食品管理的状况至关重要。我觉得他们说的有道理,就开始在厨房工作。一开始说好只有三个月的,但没想到被诓了…(笑)

看来他们是认准了您是做厨师的好苗子。

门肋:
我也好奇。在最初的三个月里,我做了很多助理工作,比如跑腿和打扫,根本没做任何和烹饪相关的活。但我从小就一直在帮我父母打下手,我妈总是告诉我,“你必须手脚勤快,思路清楚,”所以我一直在努力找出更快的方法来做教给我的事情。料理长可能留意到了这一点。在我的第三个月,他说:“你有烹饪的天赋,你为什么不再呆一年呢?”我当时也隐约有这么一点感觉,所以我盘算着,“做一年,就算不行我再回头去做会计,也不过才二十岁,”于是我就开始学刀工;一年过后,我被安排要做的事是别人呆了三年才能做的。

那么那时候您觉得自己能在烹饪界讨生活了?

门肋:
是的。但我当时仍然被更现代和更体面的工作所吸引,还没有下定决心。然后,我老师(给“越”餐厅做顾问的茂木福一郎)的朋友道场六三郎有一天来参观了餐馆。当时,道场先生的餐厅“六三亭”已经在业界鼎立,众所周知。我看他穿着时髦、开着自己鲜红的奔驰,跟我的老师打招呼说,“最近好不好?”觉得他实在是太帅了。突然间,我就有了自己的目标:“原来做到东京一流水平就是这种感觉啊。”那我也想成为一流。”我开始认真地工作。

在“筑地 植村”获得厨师长经验后,又在“绅士俱乐部”接受了培训,还学习了餐厅管理

在六本木的“越”进行了两年的培训后,他去了“筑地 植村”。他在“筑地 植村”的本店里,跟着茂木福一郎实习,然后在27岁成为该店西日暮里分店的大厨。

第一次担任厨师长的感觉怎么样?

门肋:
我感觉到了很大的障碍。当我只是副手的时候,我的工作就是把老师的想法传达给大家,完成他的目标就好。但是作为厨师长,我必须传达自己的想法。我当时才意识到自己多么依赖我的老师。当我成为厨师长时,我的老师告诉我:“一个大厨最重要的是自我增进。”在你20多岁的时候,你学习技术,但在你30多岁时,你会被要求把你学到的东西结合起来,看看你能不能自己做一些事情。每个人都有不同的天赋,但你如何训练自己,会在你的40多岁时反映出来。作为一名厨师长,给下手作出指示,我真的感受到要说的那些话的分量。

之后,您在29岁的时候,去了“绅士俱乐部”。您在那里却不是担任厨师长职位。您为什么敢冒险放弃厨师长职位去那里呢?

门肋:
绅士俱乐部是日本第一家高级会员俱乐部。山本敏雄先生(现职·日本全职业调理师协会会长)作为其总经理,曾经在帝国酒店的“滩万”担任料理长发挥厨艺,又是道场六三郎的追随者。当时1980年前后,它是一家走在时代最前端的日式餐厅。此外,除了绅士俱乐部外,母公司大和实业(现在名为Daiwa Exceed Co., Ltd)旗下品牌Yagura茶屋和亚洲厨房(Asia Kitchen)等在全国范围内非常成功,被公认为是餐饮业的领导者。我曾在传统的高级日本餐厅“筑地 植村”学习过厨房的操作,所以接下来我想通过在新式餐厅接受厨师训练来增加我的经验。

两者间工作风格不同吗?

门肋:
是的,完全不同。在“筑地 植村”里,只有厨师长知道每月的销售数字,一般厨师也没有真正地参与管理。但是,在“绅士俱乐部”,人们认为一般厨师知道这些数字是理所应当的。像销售报表和采购清单这样的财务报表分发给副大厨级别以上的厨师,我们被要求管理这些数字。第一次,我从专业学校获得的会计知识派上了用场。当我阅读财务报表时,我的同事们惊讶地问我:“你是怎么会知道这些东西的?”多亏了在这样以外卖为主营业务的餐厅学习如何管理店铺的经验,之后在东天红旗下的“海燕亭”担任料理长以及独立开店时都没怎么遇到过觉得困惑不知该怎么处理的时候。

麻布 门肋

联系我们
+81-3-5772-2553
交通
東京都港区麻布十番2-7-2
地铁“麻布十番”站
营业时间
18:00-1:00(L.O.23:00 ※周六22:00)
休息日
周日、法定节假日

Being a cook is the greatest job, where you can make people happy in two hours

Azabu Kadowaki
Toshiya Kadowaki

_MG_0076_R

The yearning for top-class sprouted from watching Rokusaburo Michiba, his teacher’s friend.

You originally worked at a Japanese restaurant as part of the accounting staff?

Kadowaki:
That’s right. My parents ran a sushi shop in Hokkaido. But they told me, “We want to expand the restaurant in the future, so you should study management,” so I graduated from a professional accounting school and got a job at a high-class restaurant in Roppongi called Etsu. I may not look like it, but I have top-notch bookkeeping qualifications.

That’s true! At first, were’nt you considering entering the cooking world at all?

Kadowaki:

Watching my parents, I thought working on your feet seemed really tough. I was young, and was attracted by the showiness of the world, and thought I wanted to try restaurant design. But when I started working at Etsu, I was told, “In order to manage, you have to know what’s happening on the scene. We’re not joking—we want you to help in the kitchen for three months.” It’s true that for management, it is important to grasp the situation of working conditions and food management. I was convinced by their logic, and started working in the kitchen for what was supposed to be only three months, but in the end the joke was on me… (laughs)

Did they anticipate your talent as a cook?

Kadowaki:
I wonder. For the first three months, I did mostly assistant work like running errands and cleaning, without doing any cooking at all. But I had been helping my parents since I was a child, and my mother always told me, “You have to work quickly and do the basics well,” so I was always trying to figure out quicker ways to do the things I was taught. The head chef noticed that. In my third month, he said, “You have a talent for cooking, so why don’t you stay for another year?” I was also feeling that way a little, so I thought, “I’ll do a year, and if I backtrack, I’m only 20,” and began with learning how to hold a knife; when a year had passed, I was being entrusted with the same work as those who had been training for three years.

So then did you think you could earn a living in that world?

Kadowaki:
Yes. But I was still attracted to more modern and showy work, and I had not made up my mind. Then, Rokusaburo Michiba, a friend of my teacher (Fukuichiro Motegi, who worked as an advisor at Etsu), came to visit the restaurant. At that time, Mr. Michiba’s restaurant, Rokusantei, was already established as a well-known place. I watched him ride up in his bright red Benz and stylish clothes and ask my teacher, “Doing well?” and thought how cool he looked. Suddenly, I had my goal: “So this is what it means to be top-class in Tokyo. I want to be top-class too.” And I began to work seriously on my cooking.

_MG_0245_R

He gained experience with the chef of Tsukiji Uemura and trained at Esquire Club, and also learned restaurant management.

After training at Etsu for two years, he moved to Tsukiji Uemura. He trained under the chef of the head shop, Fukuichiro Motegi, and then became the chef of the Nishinippori shop at age 27.

How was it to work as a chef for the first time?

Kadowaki:
I sensed a great obstacle. When I was second in command, my job was to convey my teacher’s ideas to everyone and accomplish his goals, but as chef, I had to convey my own ideas. I realized how much I had been depending on my teacher up until then. When I became a chef my teacher told me this: “The most important thing for a chef is self-improvement. In your 20s you learn technique, but in your 30s you are asked to combine the things you have learned to see if you can make something of your own. Everyone has a different talent for that, but how you train yourself will make a difference in your 40s.” As a chef, from the standpoint of directing others, I really felt the weight of those words.

After that, you moved to Esquire Club at age 29. You were no longer in a chef position there. Why did you go so far as to quit your chef position before starting there?

Kadowaki:
Esquire Club was the first high-class membership club, and the manager, Toshio Yamamoto (currently president of Japan All Professional Cooks Association), had shown his talent as the head chef of Nadaman in the Imperial Hotel, and had been a fellow apprentice with Rokusaburo Michiba. At that time, around 1980, it was a restaurant which produced cutting-edge Japanese cuisine. Also, besides Esquire Club, the parent management company, Daiwa Jitsugyo (now Daiwa Exceed Co.), was very successful with nationwide chains such as Yagurajaya and Asian Kitchen, and was recognized as a leader in the restaurant industry. I had learned working in the traditional high-class Japanese restaurant Tsukiji Uemura, so next I wanted to broaden my experience by training as a chef at a new-style restaurant.

Was the work style different?

Kadowaki:
Yes, it was. At Tsukiji Uemura, only the head chef knew about the monthly sales figures, and the cooks were not really involved in management. However, at Esquire Club, it was considered natural that the cooks would be aware of those figures. Financial statements like the sales sheets and purchasing sheets were passed around to the sous chefs and up, and we were asked to manage the numbers. For the first time, the accounting knowledge I had from professional school came in handy. When I read the financial statements, my coworkers were surprised and asked, “How do you know about this stuff?” Thanks to the opportunity to learn about shop management in a company in the restaurant industry, I was later able to work for the Toh-Ten-Koh conglomerate as the chef of Kaientei, and when I opened my own restaurant as well, there weren’t too many things that were confusing.

Azabu Kadowaki

Inquiry
03-5772-2553
Access
2-7-2, Azabu ju-ban, Minato-ku, Tokyo
Subway Azabu Juban Station
Hours
18:00-1:00(L.O.23:00 ※Saturdays 22:00)
Closed
Sundays, Holidays, Golden Week, mid-August, New Year's Holiday Season